The first annual Hockey Hall of Fame Future Stars Tournament crowned its ‘06 and ‘07 Division champions on Sunday. The individual-entry event follows in the format of the Future Legends Invitational in April, offering players the opportunity to return to the unique tournament as well as welcoming new players to the field.

The ‘06 Division was won by Team Orr after going 5-1-0 in the tournament. After being drafted on Thursday afternoon, the 15-man roster quickly became acclimated with one another by winning their first two games of the event by a combined total of nine goals. Team Orr’s lone loss on the weekend — a 7-2 decision at the hands of Team Lemieux — would be avenged in the championship game when Orr shut out Lemieux 7-0 to win the gold medal.

Forward Toms Trockis led Team Orr and the ‘06 Division in scoring with five goals and eight points in five games. Trockis and Marek Beaudoin combined to score one-third of Team Orr’s goals en route to the championship.

In the ‘07 Division, Team Gretzky took the top spot with a 5-1-0 record. After winning three of their four round-robin games by just one goal, Team Gretzky propelled themselves into the championship game with a 4-2 win over Team Orr before defeating Team Howe in the gold medal game.

Louis François Bélanger of Team Brodeur stood out in the ‘07 Division, scoring 12 goals and 13 points in five tournament games to lead all participants.

The Future Stars Tournament adds a new wrinkle to Selects’ Hockey Hall of Fame series in Toronto, regularly hosting some of the best players in the world at these individual-entry events. Looking to elevate both the Future Legends and Future Stars tournaments to new heights in 2020, you can get involved with one of these great tournaments by filling out the form HERE.